Urine Task Force

The goal of the Urine Task Force is to put together nephrologists, urologist and biologists with active experience in uEV research to establish best practice and standardize the field.

The Urine Task Force held an inaugural virtual symposium on 15-16 February 2022 (view the program and abstract book). 

See details for the 2023 uEV virtual symposium and register today!


Working Groups

  1. Sample collection standardization
  2. Influence of storage
  3. Approaches to normalization
  4. Clinical translation

Chair Contact Info


  • Urinary extracellular vesicles: A position paper by the Urine Task Force of the International Society for Extracellular Vesicles
  • The Urine Task Force held an inaugural virtual symposium on 15-16 February (uEV2022), which included oral and poster abstract sessions, panel discussions, overview talks, and two keynote speakers (>300 registrants)
  • Perspective (published in J Am Soc Nephrol 2022) Extracellular Vesicles as Novel Players in Kidney Disease
  • The Urine Task Force held a satellite meeting at ISEV2022 in Lyon
  • The Quick Reference Card "Storage of urinary EVs" – a practical guideline tool for research and clinical laboratories (accepted for publication in JEV, November 2022)


  • Organizing large validation studies for uEV (normalization) biomarkers
  • Identifying roadblocks to clinical translation of uEV research
  • Organizing a yearly uEV symposium, with abstracts, talks and panel discussions
  • Writing a four-yearly position paper on uEV reserach


Irene Bijnsdorp | Francesc Borràs | Dylan Burger | Benedetta Bussolati | James Brian Byrd | Aled Clayton |Juan Manuel Falcón-Perez | Cristina Grange | Guido Jenster | Connie Jimenez | Kerstin Junker | Jon B. Klein | Mark Knepper | Janne Leivo | Metka Lenassi | Matt Luther | Michael L. Merchant | Inge Mertens | Luca Musante | Eline Oeyen | Trairak Pisitkun | Maija Puhka | Catherine Sánchez | Jack Schalken | Carolina Soekmadji | Robert A. Star | Visith Thongboonkerd | Martin Van Royen | Volkert van Steijn | Gerald Verhaegh | Jason Webber | Ken Witwer | Peter S. Yuen